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Thank you for taking the I-PLEDGE and partnering with the Iowa Department of Revenue (IDR) to help keep 
tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of underage persons in Iowa. This 
handbook is a valuable resource to assist in the successful completion of tobacco, alternative nicotine and va-
por product enforcement initiatives. Relevant forms, sample letters and suggested procedures are contained in 
this publication. Feel free to make copies of these documents to complete necessary paperwork.  
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IOWA STATE PATROL TO PARTNER WITH 
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE FOR TOBACCO, ALTERNATIVE  

NICOTINE AND VAPOR PRODUCT EDUCATION AND ENFORCEMENT 

[COMMUNITY], Iowa ([MONTH ##], 20##) – The Iowa State Patrol [DISTRICT #] has taken a pledge to 
keep tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of underage persons in 
[COMMUNITY]. 

Known as I-PLEDGE, the program is a partnership with the Iowa Department of Revenue (IDR) to 
educate local retailers and to enforce Iowa’s tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws. Since 
the program’s inception in 2000, the statewide tobacco compliance rate has grown to 91%. By participat-
ing in the program, the Iowa State Patrol has committed to do its part to increase the compliance rate 
even more this year. 

I-PLEDGE places emphasis on retailer training. Clerks who successfully complete an online training 
course and then pass an exam will become I-PLEDGE certified. This allows a retail establishment to use 
an affirmative defense against a civil penalty if the certified clerk makes an illegal sale.

“I-PLEDGE’s retailer training is a great way for clerks to prepare themselves to refuse illegal tobacco, 
alternative nicotine and vapor product sales,” [DISTRICT LIEUTENANT/SERGEANT] said. “The training 
also assists retailers to ensure they maintain a compliant and responsible establishment.” 

Troopers will also be conducting compliance checks on local establishments as part of the I-PLEDGE 
program. Underage customers, under the supervision of law enforcement officials, will enter 
establishments and attempt to buy tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products. Clerks who make 
the illegal sale will be cited on the spot. 

Criminal penalties for selling tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products to a minor include a $135 
fine for a first offense, a $325 fine for a second offense and a $645 fine for third and subsequent offens-
es. However, handing out citations is not the intent of the I-PLEDGE program. 

“By partnering with the Iowa Department of Revenue, we hope to educate clerks and maintain a 
compliant retail environment in our community,” [DISTRICT LIEUTENANT/SERGEANT] said. “Moreover, 
we pledge to help keep tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of underage 
persons in Iowa.” 

To take the I-PLEDGE training or search certification records go to https://abd.iowa.gov/. 

## 
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1. Issue a press release indicating your district is partnering with the Iowa Department
Revenue to conduct compliance checks. A suggested press release is included on page 2 of 
this handbook and can be downloaded at https://abd.iowa.gov/.

► Please do not provide retailers with advance notification of compliance checks.

2. Complete and submit compliance checks on or before April 15, 2024.

► Use only Fiscal Year 2024 Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement 
Program forms included in this handbook, or download current forms at https://abd.iowa.gov/.

3. Immediately issue a criminal citation to non-compliant clerks. Your agency should notify the
city or county attorney within 72 hours for criminal proceedings. Your agency should also notify
the business owner or manager of the tobacco/alternative nicoitne/vapor product violation
within seven (7) business days.

► Do not obtain the name of the clerk for compliance checks resulting in compliance. IDR does 
not need this information and the clerk may notify other retailers in the area that compliance 
checks are being conducted.

4. Complete and submit a second compliance check on violators only by May 30, 2024.

NOTE: Compliance checks must be conducted at establishments during regular business 
 hours. 
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Not all compliance checks may be classified as compliant or non-compliant. Below are a few circumstances law enforcement 
should be aware of to ensure accurate results are reported to IDR: 

► Establishment tells underage purchaser that the business no longer sells tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor 
products: The trooper should contact the city clerk/county auditor to determine if the business no longer holds a valid 
permit or if the business simply told the underage purchaser that the business no longer sells tobacco, alternative 
nicotine or vapor products. If the business does have a valid permit, enter the compliance check as “compliant.”

► Establishment no longer holds a valid permit: Submit the compliance check as “no longer holds a valid tobacco, 
alternative nicotine, or vapor product permit.” Make sure a compliance check was attempted if this selection is chosen. If you 
are aware an establishment on IDR’s list no longer holds a valid permit prior to attempting to conduct a compliance check at 
the establishment, contact IDR using the contact information on page 13.

► Establishment is out of business: Submit the compliance check as “out of business.” Make sure a compliance check 
was attempted if this selection is chosen. If you are aware a business is no longer in operation prior to attempting to conduct 
a compliance check at the establishment, contact IDR using the contact information on page 13.

► Underage Purchaser is denied entry: Submit the compliance check as “compliant.” These establishments are typically 
“members only” or the underage person is stopped at the door due to age.

► Establishment is unsafe or inappropriate: Establishments that are unsafe or inappropriate for a underage purchaser to 
enter can be considered an “unsatisfactory condition.” However, to formally designate the establishment as an 
“unsatisfactory condition,” the trooper must contact IDR prior to conducting the compliance check for confirmation. The 
trooper must conduct a “walk-through” of the premises to ensure the establishment is in compliance with Iowa’s tobacco, 
alternative nicotine and vapor product laws.
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The I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program website allows 
law enforcement agencies to electronically file compliance check reports and submit results to IDR 
online. Please follow the steps below to enter compliance check reports online.  

1. Access the site by visiting https://abd.iowa.gov/;

2. Click on the “I-PLEDGE Training & Enforcement Log In” link located under the TOBACCO banner at
the top of the home page;

3. Choose the “Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program.” and enter a
“User ID” and “Password.”

USER ID:  
Your User ID is the word “Patrol” plus the number of your District. As an example, if you are entering 
results for the Iowa State Patrol, District 1, your User ID is patrol1 (no space).

PASSWORD:  
You will use the same password that you used during FY2023.
• Your password is case sensitive, meaning capital and small letters must be in appropriate

places.
• DO NOT USE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS AS A PASSWORD.

If you experience difficulty accessing the I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor 
Product Enforcement Program website, contact IDR using the contact information included on page 13.  

REIMBURSEMENT BREAKDOWN 

ITEM COST 

Mileage .50/mile

Patrol Salaries 

Officer Buyback Going Rate 

Secretary Buyback (data entry) Going Rate 

Confidential Informant Overhead (DPS-DNE invoices IDR) 

Wages $10.00/hour (3 hours min.) 

Meals $15.00 

Tobacco/ Alternative Nicotine/ Vapor Products Going Rate 

Mileage $10.00 flat fee (if applicable) 
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Follow these easy steps to submit compliance reports online: 

Login:   
Login using your user ID and password. Please note both the user ID and password are case sensitive; 
meaning capital and lowercase letters must be in appropriate places. 

Disclaimer: 
A successful login will prompt a disclaimer screen. The disclaimer explains the terms of using the I-
PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program website. Agreeing to 
these terms allows you to enter the website and submit compliance reports. 

Locate Retailer: 
A screen with a list of retailers will appear. You may sort each column by clicking on the arrows next to 
the column heading. There is also a search feature below each column heading. After locating the
appropriate retailer, click on that retailer’s name and a screen with the retailer’s information will appear. 

Enter Compliance Check Results: 
After arriving at the retailer information screen, scroll to the bottom and click on “Report Compliance.” A 
screen will appear that will allow you to enter compliance check results. Please complete all 
applicable fields accurately.

Submit Compliance Check Results: 
After entering the results of the compliance check, click on “Submit” located at the bottom of the screen. 
If an explanation is required, please ensure a complete and accurate explanation is provided in the 
comments section. It is imperative to enter compliance check reports accurately and in a timely 
manner. Please contact IDR if an error is made when entering a compliance check report. The contact 
information for IDR can be found on page 13. 

Notifications to Retailers: 
After receiving the compliance report, IDR will send a notification of compliance to retailers who do not sell 
tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products to underage persons and a notification of non-compliance 
to those who do sell. The notifications will be sent to retailers monthly. It is imperative to enter 
compliance check reports accurately and in a timely manner. Please contact IDR if an error is made 
when entering a compliance check report. The contact information for IDR can be found on page 13. 

Questions or Problems?  

If you have problems submitting a report or have questions regarding the website, contact IDR using the 
contact information on page 13. 



IDR has created the following suggested procedures for routine and fair monitoring of Iowa retail estab-
lishments licensed to sell tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products. 

Preparing for Compliance Checks 
The district should coordinate the participation of an underage purchaser to assist with the controlled-buy operation 
(compliance check). 

► Underage Purchasers shall be 16, 17, 18, 19 or 20 years of age. Underage purchasers younger than the
age of 16 shall not be used to conduct tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product compliance checks. 

► All underage purchasers should be of good character.

► Underage purchasers should have the appearance, demeanor, mannerisms and appropriate dress for their age
group. Underage purchasers should refrain from wearing high school or college logos while conducting compli-
ance checks.

► All underage purchasers shall complete an Underage Purchaser Consent Form prior to the scheduled compli-
ance check date. The form does not have to be signed by parent/guardian if the underage purchaser is 18 years of
age or older. If the underage purchaser is younger than 18 years old, have the parent/guardian sign the consent
form and provide a copy of the signed consent form to the parent/guardian.

In order to maintain the integrity of the program, the trooper conducting compliance checks should wear plain clothes 
and utilize an unmarked vehicle whenever possible.  

The trooper should review the list of retail establishments and determine what tobacco/alternative nicotine/vapor 
products each retailer sells. Payment cannot be made and the district will be asked to repeat the compliance check if 
the underage purchaser asks for a product not sold by the retailer. 

The citing law enforcement official shall be available for testimony at hearings and district court proceedings at the 
request of the local/state prosecutor and shall advise local/state prosecutors and IDR as to the disposition of crimi-
nal citations. 
A Briefing Shall be Held Prior to Conducting Checks 

► Appearance: The trooper should approve the underage purchaser ’s appearance and a photo should be
taken of the underage purchaser before each day of compliance checks. The underage purchaser’s appear-
ance should not be changed after that point.

► Official Identification: The trooper should verify the underage purchaser has proper, official identifica-
tion showing date of birth. This shall be the only identification carried or presented throughout the course of the
compliance check. The official identification should be an Iowa driver’s license. Make a photocopy of the under-
age purchaser’s ID.

► Possessions: The underage purchaser should only have buy money provided by the district in his/her
possession; no other money should be on his/her person. Check the underage purchaser and his/her posses-
sions to ensure there are no tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products in his/her possession prior to the
compliance check.

► Instructions: The underage purchaser should be instructed:
» As to what product he/she should attempt to purchase;
» Go directly to the targeted merchandise to attempt to make the purchase;
» Speak only as necessary - at no time should the underage purchaser try to persuade the licensee/clerk to

complete the sale;
» If asked about age, the underage purchaser should truthfully respond with how old he/she is;
» If asked for ID, the underage purchaser should present his/her ID to the licensee/clerk;
» If the licensee/clerk takes a underage purchaser’s ID, tell the underage purchaser not to argue but to leave

the store and the trooper will obtain the underage purchaser’s ID and congratulate the licensee for compli-
ance;

» If a receipt of the purchase is offered, accept and maintain for evidence;
► Termination: The trooper shall have the authority to terminate the operation at any time for safety rea-

sons.

VI. Compliance Check Procedures
FY 2024
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Law Enforcement Positioning 
► Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Retailers: If possible, the trooper should be stationed ei-

ther inside the store or at a point from which the trooper can observe the sale. The trooper should not appear to be
with the underage purchaser.

► Bars/Restaurants: The underage purchaser should enter the establishment first and request a tobacco, al-
ternative nicotine or vapor product. If possible, the trooper should enter the bar/restaurant after the underage pur-
chaser and observe the purchase attempt from a discreet location. The trooper should not appear to be accompa-
nying the underage purchaser. Most bars/restaurants typically sell traditional tobacco products versus alternative
nicotine and vapor products. An establishment where an employee checks the underage purchaser’s ID at the door
and denies the underage purchaser access to the premises shall be considered to be compliant.

Unsatisfactory Condition 

Establishments that are unsafe or inappropriate for an underage purchaser to enter can be considered an 
“unsatisfactory condition.” An underage purchaser should never be sent into an adult entertainment facility or bar 
where the trooper feels it is unsafe or inappropriate for the underage purchaser. The majority of bars in Iowa do not  
fall under this condition. 

However, to formally designate the establishment as an “unsatisfactory condition,” the trooper must contact ABD prior 
to conducting the compliance check for confirmation. Once the establishment has been formally designated as an 
“unsatisfactory condition,” the trooper must conduct a “walk-through” of the premises to ensure the establishment is in 
compliance with Iowa’s tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws. A payment will not be sent to law en-
forcement agencies that neglect to conduct a “walk-through” of “unsatisfactory condition” establishments. In the event 
that ABD feels the check can safely be conducted, the department will be asked to complete the check. 

Vending Machines 

A vending machine which is accessible to a person under age 21 is in violation of Iowa Code section 453A.36(6). If an 
establishment has a vending machine, the underage purchaser should be instructed to approach the retailer and spe-
cifically ask for change for the vending machine. If change is given, the underage purchaser should purchase tobacco, 
alternative nicotine or vapor products from the machine and exit. Asking specifically for change for the vending ma-
chine helps to identify who to cite during a non-compliant vending machine sale.  

Audio/Video Recording 

Audio and video equipment may be utilized during compliance checks in lieu of trooper observation. 

Criminal Citation 

Immediately issue a criminal citation to an employee/clerk who sells a tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor product to 
a underage purchaser, a violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1). A citation must be issued before your district may 
receive payment.  Selling a tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor product to is a scheduled violation, resulting in 
scheduled fines as follows: 
► 1st Offense: $135.00 plus surcharge and court costs
► 2nd Offense: $325.00 plus surcharge and court costs
► 3rd Offense: $645.00 plus surcharge and court costs

Reporting 

The district shall enter the compliance check results into the I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Prod-
uct Enforcement Program accessible at https://abd.iowa.gov/.  For further instruction on this procedure refer to pages 
5 and 6. It is imperative to enter compliance check reports accurately and in a timely manner. Please contact 
IDR if an error is made when entering a compliance check report. The  contact information for IDR can be found on 
page 13. 

Additional Information 
For further information on tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws refer to Iowa Code Chapter 453A. The 
Iowa Code can be viewed at www.legis.iowa.gov/. 
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► I understand my participation is voluntary and I will be under the supervision of a law enforcement of-
ficer at all times.

► I understand it is essential to maintain the confidential nature of the program, therefore ensuring the
effectiveness, accuracy and validity of the outcome.

► I understand my participation in the project can be terminated at any time by myself, a parent/ guardian
(if under age 18)  or the law enforcement agency.

► I understand compliance checks may result in the purchase of tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor
products. I understand tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products will be treated as evidence and
maintained by the law enforcement agency.

► I understand that I may be required to enter bars.

► I understand retailers in violation of minimum-age tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws
may receive citations that result in monetary fines, suspension or revocation of their license and that I
may be asked to participate in the adjudication process.

► I understand the success of the project is not dependent upon making successful, illegal purchases.

My signature on this document verifies my willingness to participate in the project and to follow the rules 
and procedures outlined in the training. 

Underage Purchaser Signature  ____________________________ Date  ___________________  

I have read the Program Procedures and Youth Participant Guidelines and give my permission for my child 
to participate in this project. 

Parent/Guardian Signature  ________________________________ Date  ___________________  

Program Coordinator  ____________________________________ Date  ___________________  

Note: Parent/Guardian signature is not required if underage purchaser is over the age of 18 years old. 

VII. Underage Purchaser Consent Form
FY 2024

Underage Purchaser’s Name:  ____________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:  _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City: _____________________________________  State: ______  Zip:  ___________________________________________ 

Home Phone Number: _________________________  Date of Birth:  ____________________________________________ 

Social Security Number: ____________________________  Gender:  ____________________________________________ 

Underage Purchaser’s Driver License or Identification Card No.:  ______________________________________________ 



RESULTS (check one): Compliant 

Date Checked: ____________ Non-Compliant 

Time Checked: ____________ Unable to Complete 
(Not Applicable) 

Clerk Information: □ Male     □ Female

(NAME ONLY REQUIRED IF NON-COMPLIANT):  

First Name: ________________  Middle Initial: _______ 

Last Name: ________________  Case #: ____________ 

  I have issued a criminal citation to the clerk listed above for selling tobacco,  
 alternative nicotine or vapor products to a person under age twenty-one.   
 Iowa Code § 453A.2(1).  

(NOTE: If the compliance check result is Non-Compliant, a citation must be issued before your department may receive payment.) 

VIII. Compliance Check Form
FY 2024

Retailer: ____________________________________  Address : _________________________________________________ 

City: _______________________________________________________  State: __________  ZIP: _____________________ 

TROOPER INFORMATION (TROOPER THAT CONDUCTED COMPLIANCE CHECK): 

First Name: ___________________________  Middle Initial: _______  Last Name: __________________________________ 

Badge: _________________________  District: ___________________________________________________________ 

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMANT (CI): 

CI Age:  □ 16    □ 17    □ 18    □ 19    □ 20

CI Gender:  □ Male   □ Female       CI Number:                                            (Last 4 digits of CI’s ID)

CI Race:  □ Black     □ American Indian/ Alaskan Native     □ Asian/ Pacific Islander     □ White    □ Unknown

CI Ethnicity:  □ Not of Hispanic Origin    □ Hispanic Origin    □ Unknown

RESULTS OF ATTEMPTED PURCHASE: 

Attempted Purchase Item: □ Cigarettes       □ Smokeless Tobacco     □ Other Tobacco Product

□ Vapor Product  □ Alternative Nicotine Product

Age Requested? □ YES    □ NO

ID Requested?    □ YES    □ NO

Trooper Signature  

COMMENTS: 

If Unable to Complete the Compliance Check (check one) 

□ Establishment has a VALID PERMIT but Does Not Sell Tobacco, 
Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products.

- Permit Status Verified by City Clerk or County Auditor

□ Establishment No Longer Holds a Valid Tobacco, Alternative 
Nicotine or Vapor Product Permit

□ Establishment is Out of Business

□ Establishment is designated as an “Unsatisfactory Condition”

- “Unsatisfactory Condition” verified by IDR Investigator
- Trooper Conducted a Walk-Through of the Premises

(Explanation Required in Comments Section Below)

□ If none of the above reasons apply, write reason and explanation on

the back of the form—see page 4 for reason list.
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Why are some of the retailers listed in the I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine 

and Vapor Product Enforcement Program website highlighted blue? 

Retailers that indicated they were an alternative nicotine/vapor store on their permit applications are highlighted 
in blue within the I-PLEDGE website. This does not mean that these retailers sell only vapor/alternative nicotine 
products but there is a high likelihood that this is the case. It is recommended that the trooper find out what 
products these retailers sell prior to conducting compliance checks. This way the trooper can ensure 
the minor is instructed to attempt to purchase a product the retailer carries.  Payment cannot be made and the 
district will be asked to repeat the compliance check if the minor asks for a product not carried by the retailer.  

Vapor Product: 
Any non-combustible product which may or may not contain nicotine, that employs a heating element, power 
source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that 
can be used to produce vapor from a solution or other substance. Vapor product includes an electronic ciga-
rette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device, and any cartridge or other 
container of a solution or other substance, which may or may not contain nicotine, that is intended to be used 
with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. 
Vapor product does not include a product regulated as a drug or device by the United States Food and Drug Ad-
ministration under chapter V of the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.  

Alternative Nicotine Product: 
A product, not consisting of or containing tobacco, that provides for the ingestion into the body of nicotine, wheth-
er by chewing, absorbing, dissolving, inhaling, snorting, or sniffing, or by any other means. Alternative nicotine 
products do not include cigarettes, tobacco products, or vapor products, or a product that is regulated as a drug 
or device by the United States Food and Drug Administration under chapter V of the federal Food, Drug and Cos-
metic Act. 

Based on advice from the Iowa Attorney General’s Office, the last line of the above definition eliminates cessa-
tion products from being included under the law. Therefore, the purchase of cessation products should not be 
attempted during tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product compliance checks. The three types of 
over the counter cessation products currently approved by the FDA are nicotine gum, transdermal patches, and 
nicotine lozenges. 
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Where can I learn more about vapor products sold by Iowa retailers? 

Two training videos were created to educate law enforcement officers and underage purchasers in conducting 
compliance checks at vape shops and requesting vapor products at any retail establishment that sells 
vapor products. These training videos can be accessed by logging into the I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative 
Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program Website. Follow the log in instructions on page 5, then 
select Training Videos on the main menu. 

It is important to note, these videos are for training purposes only and should not be shared with others outside 
of the compliance check inspection team. This includes not sharing these videos on social media or posting the 
videos on a platform the public has access to.  



If you have a question or need assistance with the Tobacco Enforcement Program, contact IDR using the contact 
information below.  

Jessica Ekman 
Tobacco Program Coordinator 
515.281.7434    
iapledge@iowaabd.com

Kelly Dawson
Investigator / Backup Program Coordinator
515-336-5991
iapledge@iowaabd.com
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Iowa Department of Revenue
 Alcoholic Beverages Division 

1918 SE Hulsizer Road 
Ankeny, IA 50021 

515.281.7400 
866.IowaABD

https://abd.iowa.gov/ 
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