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revenue.iowa.gov 

Who should use this form? Only use this form if your appeal was dismissed for failure to pursue and 
you want the Department to reinstate it. Refer to the Director’s Order to Dismiss for the reason for 
dismissal. The decision to reinstate an appeal may only be granted under certain circumstances. For 
more information on this process and the requirements, see Iowa Administrative Code rule 701—
7.11(3). 

Do not use this form to argue the merits of your appeal. The Department will not consider any 
information relating to the merits of your appeal, such as your disagreement with a Department 
decision, in determining whether to reinstate your appeal.  

What is required for the Department to grant your reinstatement application? The only 
information that is relevant to an application for reinstatement is your explanation of why you failed to 
respond completely and substantively to the Department correspondence requiring that you undertake 
certain actions in pursuit of your appeal. You must demonstrate good cause for not responding to the 
Department’s correspondence. “Good cause” is defined in Iowa Rule of Civil Procedure 1.977. See 
Iowa Administrative Code rule 701—7.11(3) for more information. 

Applications for reinstatement are subject to open records laws. This application and any 
documents attached to it may be made available for public inspection subject to Iowa’s open records 
laws. To learn more about what information the Department will automatically redact prior to public 
disclosure, and how you may request that the Department redact certain other information, please visit 
revenue.iowa.gov/TBOR. 

Applications for reinstatement must be submitted no later than 30 days from the date of the 
Director’s Order to Dismiss. An application for reinstatement is considered filed on the date of the 
postmark, if mailed, or on the date of receipt, if hand or electronically delivered. Alternatively, if your 
dismissed appeal concerned a tax liability owed to the Department, you may pay the liability owed, 
including penalty and interest due, and file a claim for a refund. If that refund claim is denied, you will 
have 60 days from the date of the denial letter to file an appeal, pursuant to Iowa Code section 
421.60(2)(h). If you wish to seek relief outside the appeal and reinstatement processes, you may file 
a request for abatement. Please visit revenue.iowa.gov for more information.  

Submit Your Application for Reinstatement: 
By email: 
IDRHearings@iowa.gov 
See revenue.iowa.gov 
for more options for 
submitting your 
application 

By mail:  
ATTN: Legal Services and Appeals 
Iowa Department of Revenue 
PO Box 14457 
Des Moines, IA 50306-3457 

In person: 
Iowa Department of Revenue 
1st Floor Hoover Building 
1305 E Walnut 
Des Moines, IA 50319

mailto:IDRHearings@iowa.gov
https://revenue.iowa.gov/
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BEFORE THE IOWA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
HOOVER STATE OFFICE BUILDING 

DES MOINES, IOWA 

IN THE MATTER OF: 

Name(s): _______________________________ 

 ______________________________________ 

Address: _______________________________ 

City: ___________________________________ 

State: ____________ ZIP: _________________ 

REINSTATEMENT 
Docket No.: ___________________ 

(filled in by Department) 

Appeal Docket Number: __________________  Dismissal Date or Letter ID: __________________ 

Reason for Reinstatement. Below, describe all of the relevant facts and circumstances that 
demonstrate why you failed to respond completely and substantively to the Department’s 
correspondence requiring that you undertake certain actions with regard to your appeal. See page 1 
for additional information regarding the requirements for reinstatement. Do not discuss the merits of 
your appeal here; the merits of your appeal will not be considered at this time. If needed, you 
may attach to this form additional pages and any documentation that supports the facts you allege 
below. 
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Signature. If you are completing this form as a representative for the taxpayer, you must include a 
copy of an executed IA 2848 Power of Attorney form or Representative Certification form, as applicable 
in Iowa Administrative Code rule 701—7.6, unless you already have one on file with the department. 
I, the undersigned, declare under penalties of perjury or false certificate, that I have examined this 
document, and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. I declare that 
I am authorized to act on behalf of the taxpayer, and will act only within my authority.  

Signature (Taxpayer or Authorized Representative): 
 ________________________________________________________  Date: __________________  
Spouse’s signature, if applicable: 
 ________________________________________________________  Date: __________________  
Printed name of Taxpayer or Authorized Representative: __________________________________  
Printed name of spouse, if applicable: _________________________________________________  
Email: ___________________________________________________  Phone: ________________  
Spouse email, if applicable: __________________________________  Phone: ________________  
Mailing address: __________________________________________________________________  


	Names: 
	Names2: 
	Address: 
	City: 
	ZIP: 
	Description: 
	Phone Number_Spouse: 
	Email Address_Spouse: 
	Email Address_TaxPayer: 
	Phone Number_TaxPayer: 
	Mailing address1: 
	Name of Taxpayer or Authorized Representative: 
	Name of Spouse: 
	State: 
	Appeal Docket Number: 
	Dismissal Date or Letter ID: 
	Date_TaxPayer: 
	Date_Spouse: 


