

. ..

. . .

# 2025 Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim

Iowa Code chapter 425 and Iowa Administrative Code chapter 701-104

Return this form to your county treasurer on or before June 1, 2025, or, if the treasurer has extended the filing deadline, on or before March 31, 2026.

Complete the following personal information:			
Your name:	Spouse name:		
Your Social Security Number:	Spouse Social Security Number:		
Your birth date (MM/DD/YYYY):			
Address:	City:		
State: ZIP:			
Part I: Household and Income Information			
Answer these questions to determine eligibility	:		
1. Are you currently an lowa resident?		Yes 🗆	No 🗆
If No, stop. No credit is allowed.			
2. Did you file a Property Tax Credit claim in 2024	?	Yes 🗆	No 🗆
	24?		No 🗆
3b. Were you age 70 or older as of December 31, 2024?			
	your household (include yourself). See instructions		
	as of December 31, 2024? See instructions		
	facility during 2024? See instructions		
	omeone else? See instructions		No 🗆
-	ad?		No 🗆
			No 🗆
			<u> </u>
6. Was part of your home rented or used for busin			
	je here		
	ct rented during 2024? by you?		
2024 Total household income for the entire year	r		
Read instructions before completing.	Use whole	dollars (	only
8. Iowa taxable income (see instructions)			_
If less than zero. enter 0			.00

.00 9. In-kind assistance for housing expenses..... .00 10. Title 19 benefits (excluding medical benefits)..... .00 11. Social Security income (include any Medicare premiums withheld)..... .00 12. Disability income and workers' compensation ..... .00 13. All retirement income ..... .00 14. Interest income from federal, state, or local government..... 15. Capital gains and income from a farm tenancy agreement If less than zero, enter 0..... .00 16. Money received from others living with you..... .00 17. Other income ..... .00 .00 18. Total household income. Add amounts from lines 8-17.....

Refer to the income schedules in the Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim Instructions prior to submitting your claim.

Skip	Part	ll if	vou	are	filing	this	claim	before	March 3	1, 2026.

### Part II: Property Tax Payment and Prior Claim Information

Answer these questions if you are filing this claim after March 31, 2026.

These questions require information you will need to obtain from your county treasurer.

Proof of property taxes paid in full from the county must be included with the claim.

If you marked "Yes" on Part I, line 3b, you must answer questions 2 through 5 below.

If you marked "No" on Part I, line 3b, skip questions 2 through 5 below.

- 2. Enter the first claim year for which you filed a claim as a claimant that is 70 years of age or older ..... Refer to the Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim Instructions prior to submitting your claim.
- 4. If you marked "No" on Part II, line 3, enter the claim year for which you next filed a claim as a claimant that is 70 years of age or older and that you have consecutively filed a claim for each year since .....
- 5. Enter the actual amount of property taxes due on the homestead for the claim year on Part II, line 2 or line 4 if you marked "No" on Part II, line 3.....

Refer to the Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim Instructions prior to submitting your claim.

I, the undersigned, declare under penalties of perjury or false certificate, that I have examined this claim, and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Your signature: \_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_

# 2025 Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim Instructions, page 1

### Who is eligible?

- Iowa residents.
- Total household income less than \$26,219 and age 65 or older on December 31, 2024, or
- Total household income less than 250% of the federal poverty level (see 250% Federal poverty level guidelines) and age 70 or older on December 31, 2024, or
- Totally disabled and age 18 or older by December 31, 2024.

A claim for property tax credit may be filed on behalf of a deceased person by the person's spouse, attorney, guardian, or estate executor or administrator. To be eligible the deceased person must have been an lowa resident at the time of death. If two or more persons occupying a home qualify for a credit, each person may file a claim based on each person's income and each person's share of property tax due. Married couples are considered one household, may file only one claim, and must combine their incomes.

### Mobile/Manufactured/Modular Homes

A claim for property tax credit may be filed if your mobile, manufactured, or modular home was assessed as real estate. If your mobile, manufactured, or modular home was not assessed as real estate, you may claim a credit on the property taxes due on the land where the home is located, if you own the land.

If your home is subject to the annual tax based on square footage, you may be eligible for a reduced square footage tax. Your county treasurer has the details on the Mobile/Manufactured/Modular Home Reduced Tax Rate Program.

### Due date

This claim must be filed with your county treasurer on or before June 1, 2025. The treasurer may extend the filing deadline to March 31, 2026.

### Additional information

The location of your county treasurer can be found at the lowa Treasurers website: <u>iowatreasurers.org</u>.

For information about your Social Security benefits, go to the Social Security Administration website: ssa.gov/myaccount.

## Claimant instructions

### Part I: Household and Income Information

**Line 3b:** "Living with" refers to domicile and does not include a temporary visit.

Line 3c: "Totally disabled" means:

- You are unable to engage in any substantial gainful employment;
- The unemployment is due to a physical or mental impairment that is:
  - o Medically determined; and
  - Expected to last 12 months or longer or result in death.

Current proof of disability must be included with your claim in one of these forms:

• A current statement from the Veteran's Administration that in 2024 you were receiving a disability benefit due to 100% disability, or

- A copy of the current Social Security Administration document stating the date the disability began, or
- A written statement from your doctor noting the beginning date of disability and whether the disability is permanent or temporary.

### Claims without proper documentation will be denied. Proof of disability is not required if you were age 65 or older as of December 31, 2024.

Line 4: Mark "Yes" if you are a resident of a nursing home or care facility. If not, mark "No." If you are living in a nursing home or care facility, you are eligible for the property tax credit on your homestead if it is not being rented to someone else. If it is being rented, you are not eligible to file a property tax credit claim, but you may be able to file a rent reimbursement claim based upon the rent payment you made to the nursing home.

**Line 6:** Mark "Yes" if part of your home was rented or used for business purposes during 2024. If not, mark "No." If you marked "Yes," you are entitled to a credit of property tax due on only that portion of the home utilized as the dwelling place by you and your spouse.

If you answered "Yes", on line 6, calculate the percentage of property tax that is allowable for a credit by determining the square footage of the home that is utilized as the personal dwelling, in proportion to the square footage of the entire home. Enter this percentage on line 6.

For example: if the square footage for personal use is 750, and the total square footage is 1,000, the percentage is 75% (750 divided by 1,000 equals 75 percent).

### 2024 Household income

Household income includes your income and your spouse's income, if living together, and monetary contributions received from any other person living with you. If you and your spouse do not live together, you may file separate claims. If you received a property tax credit in 2024, do not report this as income. Income reported for the purpose of this application may be different than that reported on an income tax return.

Line 8: Iowa taxable income - Enter the amount of Iowa taxable income from your state individual income tax return (2024 IA 1040, Step 4, Line 4). Do not include any net operating loss. If you did not file a 2024 IA 1040, use the IA 1040 to calculate the amount on Step 4, line 4 and enter it on this line. If you are unable to use the IA 1040, enter the amount of your wages, salaries, unemployment compensation, tips, bonuses, commissions, dividends, distributions, or any profit from a business that exceeds the applicable standard deduction amount or itemized deductions amount, if you itemize deductions. For information about the standard deduction amount, see IRS Publication 501. If you are below age 65 and not required to file an IA 1040 for the 2024 tax year because you are below the income threshold, enter zero. If you live with your spouse, include their income. If less than zero, enter zero.

**Lines 9-17:** Any amounts entered on these lines shall be amounts not already included in line 8.

**Line 9:** In-kind assistance - Enter any portion of your housing expenses, including utilities, that were paid for you. Do not enter Federal Energy Assistance.

**Line 10:** Title 19 benefits - Enter your Title 19 benefits received for housing only. Do not include medical benefits. If you live in a nursing home or care facility, contact the administrator for the amount to enter, or:

- Enter 20% of your benefits if you lived in a nursing home, or
- Enter 40% if you lived in a care facility.

**Line 11:** Social Security income - Enter the total Social Security benefits received, even if not reportable for income tax purposes. Include any Medicare premiums withheld. Do not include child insurance benefits received by a member of your household.

**Line 12:** Disability income and workers' compensation -Enter the total received for disability or workers' compensation, even if not reportable for income tax purposes.

Line 13: All retirement income - Enter the total amount received from a governmental or other pension or retirement plan, including defined benefit or defined contribution plans; annuities; individual retirement accounts; plans maintained or contributed to by an employer, or maintained and contributed to by a self-employed person as an employer; and deferred compensation plans or any earnings attributable to the deferred compensation plan. Include retirement pay for military service, even if not reportable for income tax purposes.

**Line 14**: Interest income from federal, state, or local governments - Enter interest income from federal, state, and local governments.

**Line 15:** Capital gains and income from a farm tenancy agreement - Enter any capital gain received from the sale or exchange of capital assets that is not already included in line 8. Capital losses are limited to the same amount reportable for income tax purposes. Any loss must be offset against gain, and a net loss must be reported as zero. Enter the amount of income from a farm tenancy agreement covering real property that is not already included in line 8.

**Line 16:** Money received from others - Enter money received from others living with you. Do not include goods and services received.

**Line 17:** Other income - Enter total income received from the following sources:

- Child support and alimony payments.
- Welfare payments. Include Family Investment Program (FIP), children's Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and all other welfare program cash payments. Do not include foster grandparents' stipends or non-cash government assistance (food, clothing, food stamps, medical supplies, etc.).
- Insurance income not reported elsewhere on this form.
- Gambling and all other income not reported elsewhere on this form.

# Part II: Property Tax Payment and Prior Claim Information

Only complete this part if you are filing this claim after March 31, 2026. To answer these questions, you should contact your county treasurer for information.

**Line 1:** Mark "Yes" if you have paid your property taxes due on your homestead in full for the fiscal year 2025-2026. If not, mark "No." Include proof of your property tax payment with the claim. This can be obtained through your county treasurer.

Only complete lines 2 through 5 if you marked "Yes" on Part I, line 3b.

**Line 2:** Enter the first claim year for which you filed a property tax credit claim as a claimant that is 70 years of age or older. The claim year is the year of the original due date. For example, if you are filing a claim for property taxes that are due in fiscal year 2025-2026, the original due date of the claim is June 1, 2025 which makes the claim year 2025.

**Line 3:** Mark "Yes" if you have filed a claim for the property tax credit for each year following the year entered on line 2. If you have not filed a claim each year following the year entered on line 2, mark "No".

**Line 4:** If you marked "No" on line 3, enter the claim year for which you next filed a claim and that you have since filed a claim in each year since. Example: Claimant A, who is 70 years old, filed a claim for the first time for claim year 2022. Claimant A then failed to file a claim for claim year 2023. Claimant A filed a claim for year 2024. Claimant A would enter claim year 2024 on this line.

**Line 5:** Enter the actual amount of property taxes due on the homestead for the year entered on line 2 or line 4 if you marked "No" on line 3. The actual amount of property taxes due is the amount of tax due after all credits are applied. This information can be obtained through your county treasurer.

### **Treasurer's Instructions**

Line C: Follow the steps below.

- 1. Obtain the taxable value of the land in the homestead for January 1, 2024, from the city or county assessor's office.
- 2. Divide line B by line A.
- 3. Multiply the result in step 2 by the number in step 1.
- 4. Enter the result from step 3 on Line C.

**Line D:** Obtain the taxable value of the homestead buildings for January 1, 2024, from the city or county assessor's office. Multiply this number by the percentage provided by the claimant on line 6 of the form. Enter the result on line D.

**Line J:** If line 5b was answered "Yes" enter the prorated gross property tax on line J or, if applicable, the prorated property tax base on line L.

Example: There are three owners of a home, but only two of the owners reside there. The gross property taxes equal 1,800. The prorated amount to be entered on line J is 1,200, [(1,800/3) x 2 = 1,200]. Alternatively, each person may file a claim individually using their share of the property taxes. Prorate the Homestead Credit proportionately among the claimants.

## 2025 Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim Instructions, page 3

**Line M:** This percentage is to be used in computing the amount to enter on line J or, if applicable, the prorated property tax base on line L. This computation will adjust the taxes on the land in the homestead in the same proportion.

**Lines Q - T:** A claimant filing a claim for the property tax credit who is at least 70 years of age and who has a household income of less than 250 percent of the federal poverty level is eligible to receive a credit against property taxes due on the claimant's homestead. Follow the Treasurer's Use Only instructions below to determine property tax credit eligibility.

### Total household income and allowable credit %

Total household income	Allowable credit
\$0.00 - \$13,506.99	enter 100%
\$13,507.00 - \$15,095.99	enter 85%
\$15,096.00 - \$16,684.99	enter 70%
\$16,685.00 - \$19,862.99	enter 50%
\$19,863.00 - \$23,040.99	enter 35%
\$23,041.00 - \$26,218.99	enter 25%
\$26,219.00 – or greater	no credit is allowed

#### 250% Federal poverty level guidelines

Number of persons	Total household income
in family/household	is less than or equal to
1	\$37,650.00
2	\$51,100.00
3	\$64,550.00
4	\$78,000.00
5	\$91,450.00
6	\$104,900.00
7	\$118,350.00
8	\$131,800.00

For families/households with more than 8 persons, add \$13,450 for each additional person.

## 2025 Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim Instructions, page 4

## TREASURER'S USE ONLY

Treasurer's office will complete this part of form when taxes are ready.

Claimant name: Parcel number:

# Schedule for rented homestead tracts

Taxable valuation information for the schedule below may be obtained from the city or county assessor's office.

Α.	A. Number of acres in homestead tract. (From county land records)						
В.	3. Number of acres in homestead tract used exclusively by claimant as reported on line 7.						
	Do not include acres rented or rented on shareB.						
C.	C. Taxable value as of January 1, 2024 of land in homestead used exclusively by claimant.						
	Do not include the value of land rented or rented on shares						
D.	D. Taxable value as of January 1, 2024, of homestead buildings used exclusively by claimant.						
	Do not include the value of rented homestead buildingD.						
E.							
	. Tax rate for taxes payable in fiscal year 2025-2026F.						
	G. Multiply line E by line FG.						
	I. Enter any Agricultural Land Tax Credit and/or Family Farm Tax Credit received on the land						
	valuation as shown on line CH.						
Ι.							
	gross tax shown on line J belowI.						
	Credit computation						
J	. Gross property tax due (include Homestead Credit) during the fiscal year 2025-2026.						
0.	(See instructions)	.00					
K.	. Special assessments						
	Property tax base: If you have an amount on line I, add it to line K. (See instructions)						
	If no amount on line I, add lines J and K.						
	Enter this amount or \$1,000, whichever is less	.00					
М.	A. Percent of property tax base used in computing credit, from the schedule below	%					
	If total household income from line 18, page 1 is:						
	Total household income Allowable credit \$0.00 – \$13,506.99 enter 100%						
	\$13,507.00 – \$15,095.99 enter 85%						
	\$15,096.00 – \$16,684.99 enter 70%						
	\$16,685.00 – \$19,862.99 enter 50%						
	\$19,863.00 - \$23,040.99 enter 35%						
	\$23,041.00 – \$26,218.99 enter 25%						
	\$26,219.00 – or greater no credit is allowed						
N.	J. Tentative credit: Multiply line L by line M	.00					
О.	. Homestead Credit applicable to taxes payable in fiscal year 2025-2026						
Ρ.	. Property Tax Credit: Subtract line O from line N						

Treasurers, proceed to the next page if the claimant is 70 years or older.

## TREASURER'S USE ONLY

A claimant filing a claim for the property tax credit who is at least 70 years of age and who has a household income of less than 250 percent of the federal poverty level is eligible to receive a credit against property taxes due on the claimant's homestead.

For such a claimant, the tentative credit amount is equal to the greater of the following:

(1) the amount of the credit as calculated under the schedule of credit amounts specified in Iowa Code section 425.23(1)(a) as if the claimant was an eligible claimant for a credit under that provision (see credit computation in lines J through P above); and

(2) the difference between the actual amount of property taxes due on the homestead during the applicable fiscal year minus the actual amount of property taxes due on the homestead based on a full assessment during the first fiscal year for which the claimant checked "Yes" for box 3b and if the claimant has filed for the credit for each of the subsequent fiscal years after the first credit claimed.

Eligibility for claimants who are age 70 or older as of December 31, 2024. If a claimant's household income exceeds the federal poverty level table as described below, then the claimant is ineligible for the credit.

### 250% Federal poverty level table

Number of persons in family/household	Total household income is less than or equal to
1	\$37,650.00
2	\$51,100.00
3	\$64,550.00
4	\$78,000.00
5	\$91,450.00
6	\$104,900.00
7	\$118,350.00
8	\$131,800.00

For families/households with more than 8 persons, add \$13,450 for each additional person