

IA 1120 and IA 1120F filers use this worksheet to calculate your late filing penalty if you have zero tax due and are filing after the due date for the return. See instructions for your tax type. Retain this worksheet for your records.

All corporations and financial institutions doing business in Iowa are required to timely file an annual lowa income tax return. There is no lowa filing threshold for business entities, so even entities with zero tax due, including entities claiming the protections of Public Law 86-272, in this state are subject to these filing requirements. Corporations other than S-corporations, and all financial institutions subject to the franchise tax which are doing business in Iowa, but which have no tax due, and are filing their annual corporate income or franchise tax return after the due date must use this worksheet to calculate their late filing penalty.

1.	lowa-source net income. See instructions	1.	
2.	Imputed Iowa tax for penalty purposes	2.	
	lowa tax credits		
4.	Imputed Iowa tax liability for penalty purposes. Subtract line 3 from line 2.		
	If less than \$0, enter \$0	4.	
5.	Multiply line 4 by 5% (.05). Enter the lesser of that amount or \$25,000	5.	
6.	Late filing penalty. Enter the greater of line 5 or \$200	6.	

## **Tax Type-Specific Instructions**

## IA 1120F Filer Instructions IA 1120 Filer Instructions Line 1: Enter Iowa income subject to tax from Line 1: Enter Iowa income subject to tax from IA 1120, line 13 IA 1120F, line 12 Line 2: Multiply line 1 by 9.8% (.098) Line 2: Multiply line 1 by 5% (.05) Line 3: Enter total credits from IA 1120, line 15 less composite credits from Schedule C1, line 4 Line 6: Enter this amount on IA 1120F, line 20

Line 6: Enter this amount on IA 1120, line 21

Line 3: Enter total credits from IA 1120F, line 14