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See the Department’s website for additional information regarding 2025 taxes: revenue.iowa.gov 

Who needs to file and pay estimates: Every individual or 
married couple filing a joint Iowa return that expects to have 
a tax liability of $200 or more from income not subject to 
withholding. 
Each individual required to make estimated payments must 
file an estimated payment under their name and Social 
Security Number. 
Due dates: If a due date ends on a weekend or holiday as 
defined in Iowa Code section 421.9A, substitute the next 
regular business day for the due date. 
For fiscal year filers, the dates for paying the estimated tax 
are the last day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the 
fiscal year, and the last day of the first month of the next 
fiscal year. 
How to compute estimated taxes: Compute estimated tax 
by using one of the following methods: 
• Pay 100% of the prior year’s Iowa tax liability from IA 

1040, line 18, less applicable credits; or 
• Pay 110% of the prior year’s Iowa tax liability from IA 

1040, line 18, less applicable credits, if prior year’s federal 
adjusted gross income (AGI) plus any bonus depreciation 
adjustment/section 179 from IA 1040 Schedule 1, line 9 
and all other Iowa net income decoupling, exceeded 
$150,000 ($75,000 if married filing separately); or 

• Complete the traditional worksheet provided on page 2. 
Overpayment credit: If you had a refund on your 2024 Iowa 
income tax return and elected to apply it as a credit to your 
estimated tax, the amount is automatically posted as an 
estimated credit for 2025. Use the Estimated Tax Payment 
Schedule to record and apply the credit. If the credit equals 
or exceeds the first estimated payment, do not send an 
estimated payment until a payment is due. 
Amending estimated tax: If your income changes during 
the year, adjust the estimated tax for the remaining quarters 
accordingly. Include IA 2210AI with your IA 1040 if you 
calculated your income using the annualized income 
method. 
Underpayment of estimated tax: A penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax may apply if sufficient 
estimated payments are not submitted, regardless of the 
computation method used in calculating the estimated tax 
liability. See IA 2210 for penalty exceptions. 

EXCEPTIONS 
Nonresidents: 
Composite Tax: If a nonresident partner, shareholder, or 
beneficiary (“member”) is included on a pass-through entity’s 
(partnership, S corporation, estate, or trust) composite return 
under Iowa Code section 422.16B, the nonresident member 
is not required to pay estimated tax on their distributive share 
of income from that pass-through entity. If a nonresident 
member is exempt from inclusion on the composite return or 
is excluded from the composite return pursuant to a 2025 
Nonresident Member Composite Agreement (41-175) signed 

by the member and the entity, the nonresident member must 
include their distributive share of pass-through income in the 
calculation of their estimated tax. To obtain the 2025 
Nonresident Member Composite Agreement form, visit the 
Department’s website. 
Pass-through Entity Tax (PTET): A nonresident partner or 
shareholder of a pass-through entity that elects to pay tax at 
the entity level is not required to pay estimated tax on their 
distributive share of income from that pass-through entity. 
Other non-wage income: For Iowa-source income other 
than income from wages or a pass-through entity, Iowa law 
provides that nonresidents have the option of having Iowa 
income tax withheld or paying estimated income tax. If 
paying estimated tax is preferred, a release from withholding 
must be obtained prior to receipt of income. Complete the 
Nonresident Request for Release from Withholding. To 
obtain this form, see the Department’s website. Submit the 
form with the tax payment and installment voucher to the 
Department at the address on the voucher. A release may 
then be furnished to the payer from the Department, based 
on the information provided. 
Farmers and Fishers: If two-thirds or more of estimated 
gross income is from farming or commercial fishing, two 
additional options are available (see the 2210F and 
instructions): 
• Pay the estimated tax in one payment on or before 

January 15, 2026 and file the Iowa income tax return by 
April 30, 2026; or 

• File the Iowa income tax return and pay the tax due in full 
on or before March 1, 2026. 

Those qualifying to make fewer than four estimated 
payments should use the installment voucher for the quarter 
from which the Iowa-source income was generated. 
Low income exemption from tax: 
Taxpayers 65 years of age or older: You are exempt if: (1) 
You are single and your Iowa taxable income is $24,000 or 
less, or (2) Your filing status is other than single and your 
combined Iowa taxable income is $32,000 or less. Only one 
spouse must be 65 or older to qualify for the exemption. 
Taxpayers under 65 years of age: You are exempt if: (1) 
You are single or married filing separately and your Iowa 
taxable income is $9,000 or less and you are not claimed as 
a dependent on another person’s Iowa return, or (2) Your 
filing status is other than single or married filing separately 
and your combined Iowa taxable income is $13,500 or less.  
Married Separate Filers: If you and your spouse’s combined 
income exceeds $13,500, neither of you qualify for the low-
income exemption.  
Note: The amount of any itemized or standard deduction not 
to exceed federal AGI, net operating loss carryover, QBI 
deduction, and lump-sum tax distributions of taxable income 
must be added back to Iowa taxable income for purposes of 
determining eligibility for the low-income exemption 
regardless of age.  

https://tax.iowa.gov/
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If opting to use one of the methods other than the traditional worksheet, proceed to line 16 of the traditional worksheet under 
“Quarterly Estimated Tax Computation.” 
Traditional Worksheet - for taxpayer records ONLY 
1. Federal taxable income. Report income for both spouses if filing a joint Iowa return .............................. 1.  ________________  
2. Iowa modifications to federal taxable income ........................................................................................... 2.  ________________  
3. Iowa taxable income. Add lines 1 and 2. If less than zero, you do not owe estimated 

income tax ................................................................................................................................................. 3.  ________________  
4. Multiply line 3 by 3.8% (.038) .................................................................................................................... 4.  ________________  
5. Iowa lump-sum tax .................................................................................................................................... 5.  ________________  
6. Total estimated tax liability. Add lines 4 and 5 .......................................................................................... 6.  ________________  
7. Total credits. Personal and dependent exemptions, tuition and textbook credit,  

firefighter/EMS/reserve peace officer credit .............................................................................................. 7.  ________________  
8. Balance. Subtract line 7 from line 6. If you are a resident, skip line 9 ...................................................... 8.  ________________  
9. Nonresidents. Enter amount of Iowa-source net income .......................................................................... 9.  ________________  
10. Percentage of Iowa income vs. total income. Nonresidents divide line 9 by line 1, 

round to the nearest ten-thousandth of a percent (e.g. 12.3456%). Iowa residents enter 100% ............. 10.  _____________ % 
11. Estimated Iowa tax. Multiply line 8 by line 10 ........................................................................................... 11.  _______________  
12. Out-of-state tax credit and any other nonrefundable Iowa credits ............................................................ 12.  _______________  
13. Balance. Subtract line 12 from line 11 ...................................................................................................... 13.  _______________  
14. Total Iowa credits: fuel tax, child and dependent care or early childhood development, 

Iowa earned income tax credit, other refundable Iowa credits, composite, PTET, and withholding ........ 14.  _______________  
15. Estimated tax. Subtract line 14 from line 13. 

Estimated tax payments are not required if line 15 is less than $200. 
If line 15 equals or exceeds $200, continue to line 16 directly below ....................................................... 15.  _______________  

Quarterly Estimated Tax Computation 
16. If the estimated tax exceeds $200, enter 100% (110% if high income taxpayer) of the prior year’s  

tax liability, or the amount from line 15 on the above worksheet .............................................................. 16.  _______________  
17. Multiply line 16 by 25% (.25). This is your quarterly estimated payment amount. Enter this amount  

into column A, lines 1 through 4, on the Estimated Tax Payment Schedule below .................................. 17.  _______________  

Estimated Tax Payment Schedule 

Date 

A 
Computed 
Installment 

B 
Refund 

Carryforward/ 
Prior Period 

Overpayment 

C 
Amount to be 

paid (column A 
less column B) 

Installment 1 
04/30/2025 

   

Installment 2  
06/30/2025 

   

Installment 3  
09/30/2025 

   

Installment 4  
01/31/2026 

   

Example on how to compute estimated tax: 
The taxable income of a single taxpayer is 
$24,000. 
The calculation = $24,000 x 3.8% (.038) 
The result = $912.00. 


