revenue.iowa.gov

IA 1120 and IA 1120F filers use this worksheet to calculate your late filing penalty if you have zero tax due and are filing after the due date for the return. See instructions for your tax type. Retain this worksheet for your records.

All corporations and financial institutions doing business in Iowa are required to timely file an annual Iowa income tax return. There is no Iowa filing threshold for business entities, so even entities with zero tax due, including entities claiming the protections of Public Law 86-272 in this state, are subject to these filing requirements. Corporations other than S-corporations and all financial institutions subject to the franchise tax that are doing business in Iowa, that have no tax due, and are filing their annual corporate income or franchise tax return after the due date, must use this worksheet to calculate their late filing penalty.

1.	Iowa-source net income. See instructions	
2.	Imputed Iowa tax for penalty purposes2.	
3.	lowa tax credits	
4.	Imputed Iowa tax liability for penalty purposes. Subtract line 3 from line 2.	
	If less than \$0, enter \$04	
5.	Multiply line 4 by 5% (.05). Enter the lesser of that amount or \$25,0005.	
6.	Late filing penalty. Enter the greater of line 5 or \$2006.	

## Tax Type-Specific Instructions

IA 1120 Filer Instructions	IA 1120F Filer Instructions
Line 1: Enter Iowa income subject to tax from IA 1120, line 13	Line 1: Enter lowa income subject to tax from IA 1120F, line 11
Line 2: Multiply line 1 by 7.1% (.071)	Line 2: Multiply line 1 by 4.4% (.044)
Line 3: Enter total credits from IA 1120, line 15	Line 3: Enter total credits from IA 1120F, line 13 and line 15.
Line 6: Enter this amount on IA 1120, line 21	
	Line 6: Enter this amount on IA 1120F, line 20